Benue state house of Assembly Speaker Hon Terkibir Ikyange impeached

The Speaker of Benue State House of Assembly Hon Terkibir Ikyange has been impeached. The deputy speaker Mrs. James Okefe as well as Majority Leader of the House, Benjamin Adanyi, have also been impeached.

It is gathered that 22 out of 30 Benue lawmakers voted for the impeachment of the Speaker and his principal officers. Hon Terkibir Ikyange impeached after the lawmakers accused him of abusing his office.

Hon Terkibir Ikyange impeached and he was replaced by Mr. Titus Ubwa.

The lawmakers consequently elected the former Chief Whip of the House, Mr. Titus Ubah, representing Vandeikya Kyan constituency, as the new Speaker.

Johnson Egli Ahubi (Otukpo/Akpa) was elected Deputy Speaker, while Avine Agbum (Makurdi South) was elected Majority Leader.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.